Follow cogptennis on Twitter







2007 Tennisfax/COGP Players of the Year

Each year after the COGP Masters Championships, Tennisfax and the COGP select the Player of the Year awards. Those players who were most outstanding are chosen in the following categories: Male, Female, Senior, Junior, Most Improved, Newcomer, Comeback and Shane Roush Sportsmanship.



Ross Wilson

While only playing in the COGP's prize money tournaments, which featured the toughest draws on tour, Ross Wilson was clearly the dominate player. At the Midwest Indoor, he captured the men's singles and men's doubles titles. At the Midwest Hardcourts, he won the men's doubles and mixed doubles titles. And he finished off his season at the Bernard Master Doubles Classic by winning the men's doubles title. The only blemishes on Wilson's record were a scheduling default at the MW Hardcourts in the singles draw and a loss at the MW Indoor in mixed doubles. With a #1 doubles ranking, a 21-2 overall record and 5 titles, Wilson earned the 2007 Tennisfax/COGP Male Player of the Year award.


Kelsey Kinnard

In her first year playing exclusively adult events on the COGP, Kelsey Kinnard amassed an outstanding record even though she played one of the toughest schedules of the top women on the tour. After an early season singles loss at Lancaster, Kinnard rebounded by winning the Tennisfax and Dublin titles along with the backdraw title at the Midwest Hardcourts. She also picked up the mixed doubles title at the Tennisfax Classic and was a quarterfinalist in the mixed doubles at the Midwest Hardcourts. Also at the Midwest Hardcourts, Kinnard won the 3rd/4th playoff in the women's doubles division. For her performance last summer, Kinnard was named the Tennisfax/COGP Female Player of the Year.


Jim Oppenlander

On the strength of his undefeated status in his age group, Jim Oppenlander has been named the Tennisfax/COGP Senior Player of the Year. He won men's 45 singles titles at Gahanna, New Albany and the Masters and earned the #1 ranking in that division. Oppenlander was also a winner in open competition. In men's doubles, he was the champion at Gahanna, and a finalist at New Albany and the Masters. And he picked up two mixed doubles titles at Gahanna and New Albany.


Tyler Cempre

Tyler Cempre continued his outstanding play from 2006 right through the summer of 2007. He won all the boys' 18 singles tournaments he entered on the COGP, winning at the Columbus Fall Classic, the Midwest Indoor/Holiday, Academy and the Tournament at the 'Tree IV. He was also a semifinalist in boys' 18 doubles at Academy and he played the Midwest Hardcourts in the men's singles draw, winning a round before losing to the Male Player of the Year, Ross Wilson. For his performance in 2007, Cempre was named the Tennisfax/COGP Junior Player of the Year for the second straight year.


Jennifer Hand

In 2006, Jenny Hand was ranked #32 in girls' 16 singles. One year later, she found herself at #2 in girls' 18 singles. Her tournament record included girls' 18 singles championships at Pickerington and the Columbus Open II; semifinals at the Tournament at the 'Tree III and New Albany; and the quarters at the Midwest Indoor/Holiday. She also was ranked #1 in girls 18 doubles by winning New Albany and finishing as runner-up at the Tournament at the 'Tree III. And she tried her game out against the women in the singles draw at Tennisfax and reached the semifinals there. For her outstanding performance and extreme jump in the rankings, Hand was named the COGP Most Improved Player for 2007.


Cameron Raglin

For only the second time since the Player of the Year awards were started in 1990, a junior player has been named the COGP Newcomer of the Year. Cameron Raglin introduced himself to the COGP by going undefeated in boys' 12 singles. He won tournaments at Academy, New Albany and Reynoldsburg. Raglin also was a finalist in boys' 14 doubles at Pickerington.


Noel Alcala

After an extended absence from the COGP tour, Noel Alcala reappeared late in the 2006 season reaching the men's 35 singles final at Reynoldsburg. He continued playing well during the 2007 season and reached the #3 ranking in men's 35 singles. Earning him that ranking were runner-up finishes at Lancaster, Pickerington, Gahanna and Reynoldsburg. He was also a quarterfinalist in men's singles at Reynoldsburg. For his successful return to the COGP tour, Alcala was named the Comeback Player of the Year.


Sheena Koushik

Unlike many champions, Sheena Koushik always seems to be having a good time playing tennis. In 2007, Koushik played her way to a girls' 18 singles title at Academy and was a finalist at the Tournament at the 'Tree III and the Columbus Open II. That earned her the #1 singles ranking for the year. In girls' 18 doubles, she was the #2 ranked player winning Academy and finishing second at New Albany. On top of that, she was quick to compliment her opponents for a good shot and was gracious in both victory and defeat. As a result, Koushik is certainly deserving of the Shane Roush Sportsmanship award.

Click here for past award winners.

Return to Archive







Each week on the COGP tour, an adult and a junior player are featured for their outstanding performances. Click Here.

See which players earned a #1 ranking in the Tennisfax-COGP Tour Rankings. Click Here.



TennisFax invites you to vote for the Player of the Week awards. Each week on the COGP tour, you can help select the Adult and Junior players for that week.

Players who receive this award are not necessarily the winners of the tournament though they might be. It could be someone who won multiple titles. Or it could be someone who gave a performance above and beyond expectations. Or it might be a player showing outstanding sportsmanship.

Help us select the players who stand out above the rest each week on the COGP.

Click here to nominate a Player of the Week.

You can also vote for the Player of the Year awards. Starting in September, you can help select the outstanding Male, Female, Senior, Junior, Most Improved, Newcomer and Comeback players on this year's COGP tour. You can also nominate a player for the Shane Roush Sportsmanship Award.

Click here to nominate a Player of the Year.